Board of Paroles and Pardons Administrative Meeting

Wednesday, January 19, 2022 SCDPPS Headquarters, Virtual via Webex Application

- I. The Board of Paroles and Pardons Administrative Meeting was called to order by Chair Henry Eldridge on Wednesday, January 19, 2022 at 8:45 am in the Virtual Parole and Pardon Boardroom. Members attended via the Webex application. The meeting was hosted from the Central Office of SC Department of Probation, Parole and Pardon Services located at 293 Greystone Blvd., Columbia, SC.
- II. The following Board Members were present.

First Congressional District	Member Absent	
Second Congressional District	Secretary	Mollie DuPriest Taylor
Third Congressional District	Member	Frank D. Wideman
Fourth Congressional District	Member	Reno R. Boyd
Fifth Congressional District	Chair	Henry S. Eldridge
Sixth Congressional District	Member	Lonnie Randolph
Seventh Congressional District	Vice-Chair	Kim Frederick

III. Items A through E listed below were the topics of discussion.

A. Legal Memo – Board Quorum

12/07/2021 Memo from General Counsel Matt Buchanan provided a recommendation that the Board permanently establish a quorum as a majority of Board members.

There were no motions. The Chair called for voice votes to accept or deny the legal recommendation. The vote is listed below. The Board will accept the legal recommendation to permanently establish its quorum as a majority of Board members.

Motion to	Accept	Deny	Not Voting	Absent
Christopher F. Gibbls				Х
Mollie DuPriest Taylor	Х			
Frank D. Wideman	Х			
Reno R. Boyd	X			
Henry S. Eldridge		Х		
Lonnie Randolph	X			
Kim Frederick	X			

B. 2022 Parole and Pardon Hearing Calendar – Board Member Conflicts

Members asked to forward unavailable dates to PPP staff for Board Member scheduling purposes by close of business on 01/26/2022.

There were no motions made.

C. 2022 Election of Officers

Members asked to submit election choices for Board Officers (Chair, Vice-Chair and Secretary) to PPP staff. Results will be e-mailed and posted, upon completion of hearing day.

After discussion, it was decided for the Board members to e-mail to staff the positions that they are interested in or willing to fill for the current calendar year. A ballot will be created and forwarded to Board members. Board members will complete the ballot and return their votes via e-mail.

D. 2022 Election Results

The following officers were selected to serve in 2020:

The Honorable Henry Eldridge	Board Chair	Votes – 4
The Honorable Kim Frederick	Board Vice-Chair	Votes – 5
The Honorable Mollie Taylor	Board Secretary	Votes – 5

IV. The chair called for a motion to adjourn, the motion was offered by Board Member Boyd. The meeting was adjourned.

The meeting was adjourned.