The pardon application has three components:
- Written letters of support
- Information from the applicant
- Payment of application fee
Applicants must list the name, address, and home and work telephone numbers of those submitting letters of support for the pardon. Each letter must also be signed, recently dated (within the last 6 months), and attached to the application.
Application forms must be filled out completely, signed, and dated by the applicant. The Release of Information section of the application must also be completed and notarized.
Under the South Carolina Code of Laws 17-25-322, an offender may not be granted pardon until all restitution is paid in full. This includes any restitution that has been converted to a civil judgment. It is the applicant’s responsibility to attach to the application a certified statement from the appropriate authority reflecting that these payments have been made. If there are any fees and/or fines, other than restitution, that have not been paid, the Board will be made aware when reviewing your case.
Applications must also be accompanied by a $100 non-refundable fee in the form of a money order or cashier's check, and made payable to: The South Carolina Department of Probation, Parole and Pardon Services (SCDPPPS). Applications that do not include this fee will be returned to the sender.
Based on the amount of information on the application that must be verified and the large number of applicants, the pardon process can be lengthy. It takes an average of seven to nine months from the time the paperwork is received until a hearing date is scheduled.