Parole & Pardon Hearings

Parole Board

Glossary of Terms

The South Carolina Board of Paroles and Pardons is composed of seven members, one from each of the state's congressional districts. All are appointed by the Governor, subject to approval by the Senate. They serve six-year staggered terms and can be reappointed. If vacancies occur, the Governor selects a replacement before the term expires. The positions of chairman, vice chairman and secretary are elected by majority vote of the Board.

The Board is vested with the following statutory powers:

  • Granting or denying paroles and pardons
  • Revoking, modifying, or rehearing paroles
  • Making recommendations on petitions for reprieves and commutations referred by the Governor

2018 Parole and Pardon Hearings Schedule (January-June)

Parole Board Manual

Chris Gibbs

Christopher F. Gibbs - Member 
First Congressional District

Christopher F. Gibbs is a licensed attorney, business owner and motivational speaker. Prior to returning to his hometown, Beaufort, to open his law practice, Mr. Gibbs was an Assistant U.S. Attorney for the District of South Carolina where he represented the United States before the United States District Courts. Prior to his appointment as an Assistant U.S. Attorney with the Department of Justice, Mr. Gibbs served as a Litigation Attorney for a regional Insurance Defense law firm and later went on to serve as Special Counsel to a large Pittsburgh based law firm. Mr. Gibbs is the CEO of Gateway Community and Youth Services, an organization he founded to help residents of homeless shelters and at-risk youth gain job placement and learn practical skills. Mr. Gibbs earned his J.D. at the Charleston School of Law. He received his B.A. in English at The Citadel, where he was a SOCON Academic Honor, a four-year scholarship recipient, and a member of The Citadel football team.

George Martin

George N. Martin - Member
Second Congressional District

George N. Martin lives in Chapin, SC. He was appointed to the SCDPPPS Board of Paroles and Pardons in May, 2017. He completed studies at the University of Georgia in 1965, then served three years in the US Army Military Police Corps. Following completion of his military service, he joined the SC Department of Corrections where he served as warden at several prison facilities and completed graduate studies at the University of South Carolina. He retired in 1998 as a regional director of institutional operations. Since retirement, he has been involved in numerous corrections related programs and activities. He is a lifelong member of the Episcopal Church. He and his wife of 50 years have three children and six grandchildren.

Batson - 765 - 144dpi (2)

The Rev. Dan Batson – Secretary
Third Congressional District

Dan Batson was appointed in 2015.  He is presently the Pastor at Bethesda United Methodist Church in Powdersville.  He received his BA in English and his M.Ed. in Personnel Services from Clemson University.  He also received his M. Div. from Erskine Theological Seminary.  In the early 1980's, he served as a Probation and Parole Agent in Oconee County.  He has served on the South Carolina United Methodist Board of Ordained Ministry, the Lancaster County Board of Family Promise and the South Carolina United Methodist Commission on Religion and Race.  The Rev. Batson has served 30-plus years as a United Methodist pastor in South Carolina. 

C. David Baxter headshot

C. David Baxter - Vice Chair
Fourth Congressional District

David Baxter was appointed in 2007. He is a Project Manager with AT&T and attended Virginia State College, Petersburg, Virginia. Mr. Baxter previously served on the Parole Board from 1995 to 2001, and served as board chair. He is a past member of the Leadership Greer Board of Directors, past Miracle Hill Board member and is a past board member of the YMCA. He is a Sunday School teacher and Deacon at Hampton Park Baptist Church and is a Christian School basketball coach.

Henry Elridge headshot

Henry S. Eldridge - Chair
Fifth Congressional District

Henry S. Eldridge of Tega Cay, was appointed and confirmed to the SC Board of Paroles and Pardons in 2013, representing the Fifth Congressional District. He is retired from Bayer Corporation Pharmaceutical Division, where he was the Charlotte Division Manager and Manager of Strategic Contracting Managed Care. Mr. Eldridge is a graduate of A. C. Flora High School, Columbia, and Charleston Southern University, where he received a Bachelor of Science degree in chemistry. He is a decorated US Army veteran, having served in Viet Nam from 1968 to 1970, and earned a Silver Star, Bronze Star, and Combat Medical Badge. His community service includes: Past Chairman Tega Cay Golf Assn., Tega Cay Public Safety Committee, United Way York County Board of Directors, York County Red Cross Board of Directors, Vice Commander of the Tega Cay Veterans Association and the SC Youth Shooting Foundations Advisory Board. He currently serves as a National Sporting Clays Association Level II Instructor. He and his wife of 46 years have two daughters and four grandchildren.


Vacant -  Member 
Sixth Congressional District

Kim Frederick

Kim Frederick - Member
Seventh Congressional District

Kim Frederick of Surfside Beach was appointed and confirmed to the SC Board of Paroles and Pardons in 2017.  Ms. Frederick is a graduate of the University of South Carolina and holds Bachelor’s and Master’s degrees in Criminal Justice with an emphasis in Education.  A former program coordinator for the SC Criminal Justice Academy, Ms. Frederick also worked as a victim services coordinator and then the Horry County Director for the Department of Juvenile Justice.  She served on the SC Juvenile Parole Board for several years, most recently as the Chairman.  Ms. Frederick serves on a Myrtle Beach-area School Improvement Council, and is an active member of her church where she enjoys volunteering her time with the youth group, mission projects, and mission trips.