FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT REQUESTS:
SCDPPPS GENERAL INFORMATION AND RATES

When making a request for publicly available documents, please state that the document you
seek is being requested under provisions of the South Carolina Freedom of Information Act. Be as specific as
possible about the information you’re requesting.

You may submit your FOIA request to Peter.OBoyle@ppp.sc.gov. You must include an email address or
physical address for a response. If you want a phone call be sure to include a phone number.

Information and data obtained in the discharge of the official duties of SCDPPPS and its staff is privileged (SC
Code Section § 24-21-290) and shall not be disclosed or released except as required by law or specifically
authorized by Department policy.

CHARGES FOR RECORDINGS AND OTHER RELEASABLE INFORMATION

When individuals request information and/or copies of releasable records or documents, the
following rates apply:

e Audio recordings $17.50 each

e  Copying or printing S 0.50 per page

e Certified copies S 5.00 per page

e General information requests involving more than 15 minutes 510.00 per hour
of employee staff time to research

e Copies of researched records/documents S 0.50 per copy

e General information requests that require less than 15 S 0.50 per copy

minutes to research (When minimal research time is required,
no search charge will be levied)

** If the charge is expected to exceed $50.00, a deposit for searching and/or copying may be required
of the individual requesting information.

** pPayment must be made in cashier's check, or money order only, payable to "South Carolina
Department of Probation, Parole, and Pardon Services." A receipt will be issued to the purchaser.

**SECTION 30-4-30(C) of SC Code of Laws states the following regarding FOIA response times:

Each public body, upon written request for records made under this chapter, shall within ten days (excepting Saturdays,
Sundays, and legal public holidays) of the receipt of the request, notify the person making the request of its determination
and the reasons for it; provided, however, that if the record is more than twenty-four months old at the date the request is
made, the public body has twenty days (excepting Saturdays, Sundays, and legal public holidays) of the receipt to make
this notification. This determination must constitute the final opinion of the public body as to the public availability of the
requested public record, however, the determination is not required to include a final decision or express an opinion as to
whether specific portions of the documents or information may be subject to redaction according to exemptions provided
for by Section 30-4-40 or other state or federal laws. If the request is granted, the record must be furnished or made
available for inspection or copying no later than thirty calendar days from the date on which the final determination was
provided, unless the records are more than twenty-four months old, in which case the public body has no later than thirty-
five calendar days from the date on which the final determination was provided. If a deposit as provided in subsection (B)
is required by the public body, the record must be furnished or made available for inspection or copying no later than thirty
calendar days from the date on which the deposit is received, unless the records are more than twenty-four months old, in
which case the public body has no later than thirty-five calendar days from the date on which the deposit was received to
fulfill the request. The full amount of the total cost must be paid at the time of the production of the request.
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