
UNDERSTANDING THE 

IID PROGRAM 

SOUTH CAROLINA DEPARTMENT 

OF PROBATION, PAROLE AND 

PARDON SERVICES 

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS 

Contact the IID Program:  

E-mail: ignition@ppp.sc.gov  

Phone: (803) 734-0019 

Visit the SCDPPPS website:  

www.dppps.sc.gov/Ignition-Interlock 

 

MANUFACTURER INFORMATION 

A-1 Smart Start:  1-800-880-3394 

Intoxalock:  1-833-234-6036 

LifeSafer:   1-888-861-1172 

Alcohol Detection Systems:  1-888-205-1832 

 

TREATMENT SERVICES 

For a list of certified treatment providers, visit the  

South Carolina Department of Alcohol and 

Other Drug Abuse Services website: 

www.daodas.sc.gov 

(803) 896-5555 

 

DRIVER’S LICENSE INFORMATION 

For information about  your license contact the 

South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles: 

(803) 896-5000 

 

 

 
 

 

 

 

 

  

South Carolina Department of  

Probation, Parole and Pardon Services 

293 Greystone Boulevard 

PO Box 207 

Columbia, South Carolina 29202 

803-734-0019 

www.dppps.sc.gov/Ignition-Interlock 
 

CONTACT INFORMATION 

What happens if I drive a vehicle without a BAIID? 

Drivers enrolled in the IIDP must only drive vehicles that 

are equipped with a working BAIID. Failure to do so is a 

criminal offense that could result in criminal charges.  

 

What if I own or drive multiple vehicles? 
The law requires any vehicle you drive to be equipped 

with a BAIID. 

 

What if the vehicle is not registered to me? 

The vehicle equipped with the BAIID does not have to 

be registered in your name.  

 

Another person sometimes drives my vehicle.  Will they 

have to blow into the BAIID to do so? 

Yes. However, you may potentially be held responsible 

for any violations recorded by the device if such drivers 

break the Program’s rules. 

 

Do I have to have a BAIID installed in my work vehicle? 

Yes, unless the South Carolina Department of Motor 

Vehicles has granted you an employer exemption for 

the requirement. Contact SCDMV for more information. 

 

How long am I required to be on the program?    

1st offense DUI BAC .15% or greater: minimum 6 months.  

2nd offense DUI: minimum of 2 years. 

3rd offense DUI: minimum of 3 years.    

4th or subsequent DUI: lifetime requirement. 

Felony DUI with Great Bodily Injury: minimum of 3 years. 

Felony DUI Resulting in Death: minimum of 5 years. 

 

Can mouthwash or food set off the device?                         

The device will detect alcohol on your breath, whatever 

the source. If you consume or use any product that 

contains alcohol, the device may detect it. 

 

Where do I go to have the BAIID Installed? 

There are four manufacturers in South Carolina with 

service centers located throughout the state.  See their 

contact information on the back of this brochure to set 

up appointments. 

 

Who pays for the BAIID?                                                          

The driver must pay for the installation and 

maintenance of the BAIID. 

 

Is financial assistance available? 

Yes. An application with instructions can be found on 

the Department’s website, or call the IID Program office. 

 

 

http://www.daodas.org


 The Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device (BAIID) 

prevents a vehicle from starting if it detects a breath 

alcohol concentration (BrAC) over a preset limit.  

 In South Carolina, if the driver’s BrAC is at or 

above .020%, the vehicle will not start. 

 The BAIID is wired into the vehicle’s ignition system.  

 The driver must blow a breath sample into the device 

before it will start.  

 After startup, the driver must periodically blow into 

the device.   

 If the BrAC is at or above .020% after the vehicle is 

started, a violation will be recorded. 

 

 

 

 

South Carolina residents convicted of a DUI first with a 

BAC of .15% or greater, or a second or subsequent 

DUI offense, are required to have a device installed if 

they want to drive. Drivers with an offense date 

between January 1, 2008 and September 30, 2014 

who decide not to install a device will 

remain suspended for an additional 

three years. Drivers with an offense 

date on or after October 1, 2014 

who decide not to install a 

device will remain suspended 

indefinitely.  

Regardless of the offense date, in 

order to successfully complete the 

Program, drivers who participate will be 

required to complete the full term required of them.  

STEP 1: ELIGIBILITY 

 

You will receive a letter from the South Carolina 

Department of Probation, Parole and Pardon Services 

notifying you that you are eligible to participate in the 

Ignition Interlock Device Program and may have the 

device installed. Prior to installing the BAIID, you must 

enroll in the Alcohol and Drug Safety Action Program 

(ADSAP). You should only install the BAIID if you are 

seeking an Ignition Interlock Restricted License. 

 

STEP 2: INSTALLING THE BAIID 

You are encouraged to 

contact all four 

manufacturers listed in this 

brochure. When you have 

selected an approved 

BAIID manufacturer, have 

the device installed in your 

vehicle at a service center. 

You will be required to 

return to the service center 

at least once every 60 days 

to have the device 

inspected.   

 

 

STEP 3: OBTAINING THE IGNITION INTERLOCK 

RESTRICTED LICENSE 

Your participation in the program will only begin once 

you have obtained the Ignition Interlock (II) Restricted 

License. When the device is installed, you will be 

given an installation certificate. Then a licensed driver 

should drive you to your local SCDMV office. Present 

the installation certificate to SCDMV to obtain the II 

Restricted License. Thereafter you may only drive a 

vehicle that is equipped with a BAIID.  

What Is A Breath Alcohol Ignition 

Interlock Device? 

Who is Required to 

Have A BAIID Installed? 

How Do I Obtain A BAIID? Violations of IID Program Rules 

 

Points will be assessed against drivers for rule 

violations.  Points are assessed for these violations: 

CONSEQUENCES FOR VIOLATIONS:  
Points are cumulative. 

2 - 2.5 points:  2 month term extension 

3 - 3.5 points:  4 month term extension; mandatory 

substance abuse assessment 

4 points or more:  6 month driver’s license suspension; 

mandatory substance abuse assessment  

Appeals 

You have the right to appeal all point assessments. When 

accumulated points are at or below 3.5 points, appeals 

may be submitted to SCDPPPS. At or above 4.0 points, 

drivers may request a contested case hearing at The 

Office of Motor Vehicle Hearings. 

Failure to have the BAIID 

inspected at least once every 

60 days 

1 point each 

occurrence 

Failure to provide a breath 

sample for a running retest 

1 point each 

occurrence 

Running Retest Violation:  

BrAC of .02% but less than .04% 

1/2 point each 

occurrence 

Running Retest Violation:  

BrAC of .04% but less than .15% 

1 point each 

occurrence 

Running Retest Violation:  

BrAC of .15% or higher 

2 points each 

occurrence 

Tampering with the BAIID; 

Having another person provide 

a breath sample for the 

restricted driver 

1.5 points each 

occurrence 


